NR2B | GluN2B | Glutamate Receptor Ionotropic, NMDA 2B

Glutamate Receptors

The Glutamate receptor family has further been divided into ionotropic and metabotropic glutamate receptors. 
The metabotropic glutamate receptor subfamily contains 8 members (mGluR1 - mGluR8)
The ionotropic glutamate receptors subfamily contains 16 members: 
AMPA receptors: GluA1 (GluR1) - GluA4 (GluR4)
Kainate receptors: GluK1 (GluR5), GluK2 (GluR6), GluK3 (GluR7) , GluK4 (KA-1), GluK5 (KA-2)
NMDA receptors: GluN1 (NR1), GluN2A (NR2A), GluN2B (NR2B), GluN2C (NR2C), GluN2D (NR2D), GluN3A (NR3A), GluN3B (NR3B)

Regulation and Function:
Ionotropic glutamate receptors are ligand-gated nonselective cation channels that allow the flow of K+, Na+ and sometimes Ca2+ in response to glutamate binding. Metabotropic glutamate receptors belong to the subfamily C of G protein-coupled receptors. Glutamate receptors are responsible for the glutamate-mediated postsynaptic excitation of neural cells, and are important for neural communication, memory formation, learning, and regulation.

Application Notes


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok